A contemplative afternoon

 

IMG_20170319_173545
At first, I thought it was just a pun to link the Canton of Jura to the Jurassic times, but, as I soon found out, Jurassic soil plays a huge role even in the Jura of today.

During our stay here we tackle most tasks together. However, there are times when we can do things separately. On our third Sunday, I (Annika) used a few of those hours to check out the local museum. When I opened its front door, I didn’t have many expectations: I hoped to find a few exhibits on the history of Delemont and perhaps a little information on the canton. What I found surpassed that easily: Two (and a half) floors on local and regional history, one floor on two mummies that were part of the temporary exhibition and one floor on art inspired by the current temporary exhibition.

I enjoyed browsing through all of the floors and can only recommend a visit. What stood out for me, however, was the sheer number of links to topics that are still so very relevant today: Multilingualism, the place of religion in our daily life, the importance of time, the effects past events can have even centuries later and the question of what happens after one’s death were just a few of those I started thinking about.

IMG_20170319_173502

Ici, à Delémont, nous abordons la plupart de tâches ensemble, pourtant, parfois nous avons  aussi du temps pour faire des choses séparément. Utilisant ce temps pour découvrir le musée local, je (Annika) ne m’attendais pas grand-chose, quand j’ai ouvert la porte : Je n’ai espéré que trouver une petite exposition sur l’histoire de Delémont et du canton Jura. Mes attentes ont été bien dépassées par l’exposition qui comprend non seulement deux (et demi) étages d’exposition permanente sur Delémont et le Jura, mais aussi un étage d’exposition temporaire qui présente deux momies ainsi qu’un étage de l’art inspiré par l’exposition temporaire actuelle.

J’ai bien aimé regarder tous les pièces exposé et je ne peux que vous recommander une visite. D’ailleurs, ce qui m’a frappé était le grand nombre de liens aux sujets très pertinents dans notre monde d’aujourd’hui. Le multilinguisme, la place de la religion dans la vie quotidienne, l’importance du temps, les effets que les évènements passés peuvent avoir  même quelques siècles plus tard, et la question de ce qui se passera après la mort pour en mentionner quelques-uns font partie de ces thèmes très intéressants à qui l’exposition m’a fait réfléchir.

IMG_20170319_173854
Le musée
Leave a Reply

